is gap year something beneficial?

After school, people are supposed to choose their future professional path and enter university. However, is an eighteen-year old or even younger person ready to make up its mind about the next 30 years? This question often incites youth to take a gap year, traveling or merely working, while attempting to figure out what they want from life. On the one hand, a gap year is actually an excellent opportunity to spend time with oneself, try different things and understand through practice what one precisely wants to do. Instead of facing pressure from parents, time and society (why have you not entered university yet? ), a gap year is a convenient excuse to go on with a search of areas of interests. For instance, in Russia, young people are apt to enter university quite early because of their parents, who want their children to obtain a higher education degree as quickly as possible, but, unfortunately, without taking into consideration their own desires, as far as young people frequently do not even have a clue what exactly they crave. Moreover, while traveling, people discover new cultures, places and, consequently, can significantly improve their language and communicative skills, for instance, how to get along with communities from various nations. The latter is beneficial in the sense of a multicultural experience and acquisition of tolerance. On the other hand, if one works instead or traveling, one is likely to find simply a low-paid job, earn money and spend it on entertainment without trying to figure out what one would like to study in the future. As a consequence, time passes rapidly and the person only spends time constantly having fun. In other words, previous knowledge, foreign languages, history, fades, because, with no revision, information and skills are lost. All in all, a gap year facilitates the discovery of our cravings and elimination of inappropriate options while choosing a future profession. Traveling all over the world allows one to become more broad-minded and boosts one’s ability to learn about with various cultures. Nevertheless, an irresponsible gap year that brings no new knowledge except pleasure does not contribute to our future.