Is freedom of speech important? discuss your view in 250 words.

The democratic government is created for the people and it is by the people. Therefore, opinion of every citizen matter, for which freedom of speech is critical. That being said, it can be a double edged sword. On one hand, it can convey the feedback on the political work and pave the way for the development. On the other hand, false information propagated for the political purpose can start a civil war. So, I strongly believe there should be laws in place for its regulation, simultaneously protecting the right. Right to speak freely is a fundamental right of citizens in a democratic country. Freedom to express and criticise is one of the way people communicate their view on the government’s policies and their action. Which helps the politicians to understand their constituents, introduce required policies and if needed modify them to serve effectively. Thus it is critical for the survival of democracy and growth. On the contrary, spread of false information can agitate and form rebel groups causing civil war within the country. This can happen when opposition parties tries to win the hearts of the people by propagating false claims about the party in power, creating circumstances which could harbour and nourish the crowd which can start an insurrection. To prevent such situation legal measures are required, however, that should not restrict the freedom of speech. For instance, from the past two decades there has been an increased incidence of suicide among the farmers because of losses and their inability to repay the loans. Which lead to a nation wide protest about the extortion of farmers by the middle men and to pressurize the government to bring changes. To address this issue the current government reformed and introduced new farm laws in hope to help them. However, because of the disinformation campaign lead by the opposition created agitation, violent protest in the capital city of India and numerous deaths. Not to mention, there was a great deal of economic loss due to destruction of the public and private property. To conclude, freedom of speech is an important part of a democracy, but it should not cause unrest in the country. So, freedom comes with responsibility. Nevertheless not everyone realises this, thus it requires legal measures to maintain the peace.