Is food preservatives are good activity.

Preservatives and food chemicals are increasingly used in the food industry these days. However, their use is not safe and poses serious risks to human health. There are however, strong opponents of this view, claiming certain advantages of food preservatives and chemicals that overshadow these risks. As far as I am concerned, the underlying risks and benefits must be pondered upon before coming to a firm conclusion. Use of food chemicals is on the rise despite strong health concerns from the medical authorities. One such health concern is the association of these chemicals with the rise in incidence of various diseases. I would like to mention about the recent rise in cancer cases, affecting thousands of people across the globe. The Cancer Foundation has strongly rejected the use of food additives, claiming that various types of cancer including breast cancer, lung cancer, and stomach cancer have been linked to the use of such chemicals. Hence, by limiting the use of food additives, people can be saved from deadly diseases. Others, on the contrary, still favour the use of chemicals for food preservation and production due to certain benefits. Firstly, these ingredients add taste to food and make it more palatable and scrumptious. For example, ice cream and cold drinks are routinely added with these chemicals for taste enhancement. Furthermore, this practice boosts commercial activity, as more people purchase their flavoured food products out of their cravings for them. Companies such as Pepsi and Walls are a proof of this as they have demonstrated huge growth in their recent yearly sales.