is english language essential to be taught in schools

The obsession with the English language In a world full of diversity, with more than 200 languages it is a bit demotivating to see how educational institutes focus more on the English language. Without a doubt is an admirable language. It is given as personalities like William Shakespeare and Robert frost. I realize that following a single language provides equality and it makes it easier to have a conversation with anyone from any place; with globalization taking over the world usage of a single language would help in uniting people from across the globe just like the way Latin is used to name all the elements in chemistry. although English would reduce differences but schools giving preference to English over other languages would also make people with some other native language feel inferior and left out if only a single language is focused on, it strips the students from growing into adults who can appreciate and accept differences in culture. Currently behind a civilization which is at the epitome of technological advancement therefore it seems silly for limiting children in their pursuit of gaining language skills. Moreover, by focusing on English or anyone language, the people speaking those languages could turn out to be dominating over other cultures. Having said all these it is true that such diversity in languages could be confusing and honestly irritating languages should not be a barrier but a medium of conversation in India one can experience diversity at its peak, there are 29 states with over 22 languages coexisting in harmony.