Is being selfish good? People say, ‘it is’. What do you say and why?

It is argued that being self-centred is sometimes beneficial for an individual. However, some of them disagree. I agree with the former view, but people should not practice this in excess. In this essay, I will argue on both statements. First of all, giving priorities to the work that is essential for personal growth does not define selfishness. I believe that people should deviate themselves from domestic responsibilities and instead concentrate on their own well-being. This will in turn help them to be more productive. Also, it would merit them to stay away from depression and other psychological symptoms. For instance, a married individual who works hard for his family’s future also need to think about his mental or physical health, so that he could stay away from conjugal conflicts. This will enable him to focus more on crucial aspects of life. On the contrary, if a person is unselfish then it would lead to major drawbacks such as ruining career, as well as losing opportunities for a better future, and weakening of the bond between family members. It could also lead to suffocation because importance is not served to such a person and can result in emotional breakdown. To conclude, I believe that one should sometimes become self concerned in order to work more efficiently and maintain a strong bond with the family. An individual should always state his opinion so that his decision could not get suppressed. Procrastination sometimes works in favour because your mental peace is not disturbed.