Acute shortage of fresh water in different parts of the world is a big concern for the governments of those countries. What can be the solutions to this problem?

It is true that scarcity of clean water is a major issue across the globe. Although there will undoubtedly be some challenges to address this issue, societies can take steps to mitigate these potential problems. This situation can be addressed effectively if certain proactive steps are taken by governments and individuals. I believe the most obvious solution is conserving pure rain water without making any contamination. Governments can initiates this programme in the society and educate people about the effective ways for storing rain water through several mass campaigns. Consequently, even common men will get idea and confidence to preserve sufficient amount of water for their future from the rain water. An ideal example would be the water storage activity in Kerala, which is very successful and popular mission in India. A further step would be the environmental and personal awareness and cleaning water. To make it clear, every individual should make sure that their own body and surroundings should be clean and free from pollution. Moreover, nobody is allowed to defecate in open areas. In addition, proper waste disposal systems should be installed and maintained appropriately, instead of disposing into public water bodies. Another possibility is limiting the usage of water. That is, not to waste fresh water unreasonably and people should be very careful while taking shower, washing and cleaning. Thus higher amount of water can be saved effectively. To conclude, it is very clear that lack of fresh water is very serious matter. Yet, if governments and individuals share a collective responsibility, then it may well become possible to offer some solutions.