Is being a multilingual person beneficial or problematic?

From an earlier age of human civilization, language was one of the most crucial parts of our way of communication. Although the language plays a significant role in our day-to-day livelihood, there is no denying on the fact that speaking a foreign language can be quite challenging sometimes. In my opinion, this may cause extreme social and practical problems that may arise due to speaking a foreign language. Both views will be discussed in this essay. In this day and age, it is very common for people to be multilingual. Many countries in the world encourages children to grow up in a multilingual environment that will help them significantly in the future, if they want to pursue education or want to immigrate to a foreign country. For example, someone who is living in the Eastern part of Asia, where English is not the mother tongue. In that kind of environment, it is very likely that the person will find it challenging to speak English, but for his work or education it will be very beneficial if he is familiar with a foreign language like English. Despite the fact that speaking a foreign language can be beneficial in certain areas of life, the problems cannot be ignored. For instance, the local people in the community will find it difficult to speak and understand a foreign language. Also, it is highly likely that they are going to be hesitant towards someone new who speaks a different language which may lead to social conflicts. In addition, life would be easier if people did not have to speak different languages while living in the same country as it may overcomplicate the way of communication in terms of any social and environmental emergency like a natural disaster. If all the people were familiar with speaking one language, then the government officials would easily communicate with them during a crucial time. In conclusion, speaking a foreign language can be beneficial sometimes, however, it would also be more practical to be able to speak the common language of the country.