Is advertisement successful way to persuade people to buy things or not

If there were no advertisements given to us when buying things, I think that we won't be as much attracted yo a particular product or service as after receiving advertisements. From my experience I was persuaded to buy a little expensive bag which was designed with the collaboration of my favorite athlete. If my favorite athlete didn't collaborated with the bag producing company, and didn't appear on TV commercial for that bag, I wouldn't have bought it. However TV commercials, the most powerful and influential shape of advertisements, has become so common that many people has become tired of watching these commercials. There are some people who even turn off their TVs when commercials begin! In my opinion, I think that advertising is extremely successful at persuading people to buy things. Much or less, people are influenced by being advertised. There might be people who didn't even know about the particular product if they weren't advertised.