Investigation of the Effects of Underwater Wings in Ships on Flow

For the last few centuries, energy saving technologies have become important because of Global Warming due to growing population and increasing fuel cost and environmental effects of fuels in all areas including marine vehicles. A lot of research has been done and some innovative products have appeared in the Hydrodynamics because one of the most important things is friction of the ship’s hull. This friction affects everything from speed of the ship to fuel consumption. The most effective product is Hull Vane which was designed by Dr. Peter van Oossanen in the last decade of the 20th century. Generally, these underwater spoilers can reduce friction between 5-10% according to the result of studies but there are also some numerical and experimental studies that this number could reach 26. 5%. Additionally, researchers observed that the effectiveness of hydrofoils depends on the Froude Number. We will take a look that how they work, principles of wings, their positions and experiments with results in this study.