Introduction to filler reinforced composites

Researchers have worked on natural fibers to identify their expanded applications and benefits. Natural fibers can be obtained from plants, animals, and mineral base. Plant fibers as a reinforcement material plays a prominent role in developing natural fiber composites. Among the plant fibers bast and leaf fibers provide good mechanical properties because of their stiffness and hard structure. Generally, plant fibers can be divided into primary cell wall and secondary cell wall. Primary cell wall comprises of disordered cellulose, hemicellulose, lignin and pectin etc. Secondary cell wall has crystalline cellulose in which S2 cell is responsible for mechanical properties. Hemicellulose acts as a matrix material which surrounds the cellulose structure and lignin provides extra strength by protecting the fiber from external damage. This makes the cellulose to have strength and stiffness. As the cell divides, the cellulose and lignin amount rise but the polyose content remains same throughout. The properties of natural fibers when reinforced with polymer matrix includes fiber content, orientation, microfibrillar angle, interfacial bond between the fiber and matrix, high water content etc. However, when plant fibers get reinforced with the hydrophobic matrix it results in poor bonding leading to less mechanical properties. This is due to the fact that hemicellulose absorbs more water content from the atmosphere and form new hydrogen bonds on the surface which makes the fiber to be hydrophilic. This hydrogen bond formation can be reduced by treating the fibers chemically with different processes. In addition to this, the components such as lignin, pectin, wax, and oily substances will be removed to a better extent, and it will result in enhanced stability of the fiber. The properties that impact the influence between the fiber and matrix are expressed as follows: i) Proper mating of two unique materials ii) Dispersion of fiber content in the matrix iii) Orientation of fiber iv) Better surface interaction. Upon treating the fibers with different treatment process the mechanical properties of composites get enhanced by reduced water-intake and better interfacial adhesion. Sreenivasan et al reported that potassium permanganate treated short sansevieria cylindrica reinforced polyester composites showed minimum water intake when compared to other treated fibers.