A cultural shock and different cultures

To begin with, the definition of culture is a unique identity of each specific area. It defines the way of life of people in every corner of the world; food, dressing, greetings, etc. By this, a cultural shock could happen when people tend to move and travel to different places. It is difficult to deny that unfamiliar cultures can lead people to experience uncomfortable and weird circumstances. For instance, the way of eating between Canada and Thailand is completely different from each other; Canadians are not having rice in their meals, they usually have bread or mashed potatoes instead. Simultaneously, Thai people always serve rice as a main dish for all of their meals; breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Therefore, Thai people are undeniable to experience the culture shock in terms of cuisine when they are in Canada. Accordingly, this state of cultural shock leads people to learn and adapt themselves to the new traditions in order to develop their intercultural competence. To admit, intercultural competence helps people become more comfortable to live and get along with new environments.