Introduce yourself

Living in a physician’ family, I’ve seen first-hand how doctors dedicate their lives to aiding those around them. Some days, they’re on-call all night; other days, they sit frowning behind their laptops doing research to find better ways to help their patients. But however tiring it is, they always come home with inspiring stories of how they treated their patients. This sense of satisfaction gained from helping patients is exactly why I aspire to become a doctor. My very first voluntary service was a trip to China with the Hear Talk Foundation. There, I witnessed speech therapists, audiologists and ENT doctors working seamlessly together as a team to help underprivileged patients with speech and hearing difficulties. What impressed me, however, wasn’t how effective surgery was in improving the patient’s hearing, but rather how the doctors managed to empathize with the patients and explained to them patiently the benefits of the treatment and soothed their worries. This allowed patients to undergo surgery with peace of mind. I’ve since realized the importance of communication and became very interested in overcoming communication barriers between people. Apart from that, I also enjoy sharing my knowledge and experience with others. As Chairman of my college’s Learning Services Support Team, I was responsible for coordinating my team of tutors to help academically weaker students both in their studies and their school life. Due to COVID-19, we were unable to carry out face-to-face lessons. This posed a great challenge in engaging our mentees to gauge their needs. Fortunately, with my team’s efforts, we enacted the Big Brother Mentorship Scheme, which allowed tutors and mentees to communicate real-time via zoom regularly. Unexpectedly, this proved to be even more effective in helping tutors understand their mentees and help solve their problems efficiently due to a smaller class size. Through this, I’ve learnt that coordination within a team is crucial to its success, and we must constantly adapt our methods to tackle challenges. Plus, I’ve gained invaluable skills in leading under stress and working as a team to solve challenges ahead. Apart from that, I was also part of my school’s Chinese Orchestra. I’ve always found music to be soothing, the changes in rhythm and perfect synchronisation of instruments always makes me feel calm and peaceful. Since my voluntary service to Dabu, China to teach underprivileged children English years ago, I’ve been very interested in how education shapes our next generation. As such, I’ve since paid close attention to related policies, such as changes in our Liberal Studies curriculum. In fact, my friends and I joined a lobbying competition 3 years ago to propose improving this subject through making good use of flipped classrooms and advanced IT. We’re proud to be awarded 1st-runner up for our efforts. During my 2-week shadowing with a local GP, I helped measure patients’ blood pressure, BMI, temperature etc. It was repetitive but knowing that they were essential in determining drug dosages and evaluating their overall health made it much more satisfying. A memorable case was where a hysteric parent rushed in with her child, whose nose has been bleeding for nearly half an hour. The GP immediately helped calm them down, and the doctor was able to stop the bleeding in 5 minutes. The GP later told the patient that he should have pressed against his nasal alar instead of the bony part of his nose, giving the patient a better chance of stopping his nosebleed on his own next time. This impressed upon me that a doctor’s job wasn’t just to treat their patients’ immediate symptoms, but also to build trust with patients and achieve patient education. While I’ve seen that being a doctor requires great perseverance and capability, it is my strong conviction that with my leadership, problem-solving and communication skills, I can better the lives of many as a doctor. Hopefully one day, I’ll be able to treat and comfort patients as my parents now do and be able to tell inspiring stories of my own to my children.