Internship Report of Ditfco Company

I have worked for three months at Diftco, near Birmingham, under the supervision of Ms Witten. The objective of the internship was to get experience in an working environment. Diftco exports construction equipment to countries across the world and is one of the most profitable firms in region. I worked in the Export Office as an intern along with 200 other workers. My responsibility is to prepare shipping documents and check containers in the warehouse, where the equipment is assembled and packed. I have to remember to attach daily journal because it helps my supervision keep track of my progress. I successfully learnt bar code system and found it so interesting. However, I think the most valuable lesson I learnt was to double check information. The importance of checking information carefully was emphasized when I sent a container to Austria instead of Australia because I had misunderstood my customer’s pronunciation. As a pioneer, the company is successful and well organized. The employees worked really hard, sometimes from eight in the morning to nine or ten in the evening. However, I think I would be more effective in an environment less routine paperwork. The problem of waste in the warehouse need to be solved and a more systematic policy of recycling is necessary. The intern is valuable in understanding how a company works. Thanks to this preparation, I established a good rapport with the export staff. On the other hand, it is so difficult to communicate with the warehouse staff. In conclusion, the internship was a valuable experience for me. I learned how to communicate with people in the community who are different from me. However, I have not achieved the goal yet because I was too quiet but I learned to be bolder and more confident so that management took my ideas seriously. Appendix: A daily journal, B copies of letters to and from Ms Witten.