International travel is becoming cheaper and cheaper, and several countries are opening their doors. Do you think the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

It is easier than ever to travel all around the world, thanks to the development of transportation technology and the process of globalization. As a result, many countries are opening their doors to welcome tourists, and in my opinion, this trend brings more benefits than drawbacks. On the one hand, several problems can be anticipated with the increased influx of international tourists. Firstly, without strict regulations, damage to the local culture seems unavoidable. Foreign visitors are often unaware of local customs and habits; as a consequence, some of their actions might be against the social norms and cause disrespect to the indigenous inhabitants. Locals, in order to earn more money, will also invite outsiders into their once sacred rituals and ceremonies, which is particularly harmful to the destination’s way of life. Secondly, there is a risk of increased social issues, such as prostitution, human trafficking and gambling, due to the rising number of tourist activities. Finally, the development of international travel will also lead to several environmental problems. That being said, the positive impacts of tourism are undeniable to both tourists and the host country. For travellers, they have a chance to broaden their horizon, absorb new knowledge which is unavailable in their homeland, and make new friends. For the destination community, the increased number of foreign tourists often translates into more revenues for the national economy, as related services such as hospitality and entertainment are allowed to thrive, creating more jobs and contributing a significant amount to the country’s GDP. In addition, this is an opportunity for a nation to introduce its cultural values and identity to the world, and cultural diversity can also be improved as foreign visitors often bring with them a whole new lifestyle and perspective. All things considered, I strongly believe that we gain more than we lose from the development of international travel.