International travel is becoming cheaper and cheaper, and more countries are now opening their doors to foreign visitors. Do you think that the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays travelling to a foreign country is very convenient as travel costs are more affordable and countries are opening their doors to welcome foreign tourists. From my personal perspective, although this trend has some negative sides, they would be outweighed by the many benefits. One of the downsides of international travel is the concern about the transmission of airborne diseases which can result in pandemics. Take the outbreak of coronavirus infections as an example. Initially the COVID-19 cases were only restricted to the city of Wuhan in China. Having no precautions for this illness, other countries did not close their borders and for the next three months, travelers have rapidly spread this deadly virus, causing thousands of fatalities worldwide. Therefore, opening doors for tourists in this case is not an optimal choice. On the other side, however, I believe that international tourism has numerous advantages. First and foremost, it is an important pillar of the economic development of the host country. The more holidaymakers are attracted, the more funds from them would be collected, uplifting the income of the tourism sector in particular and the whole nation in general. What is more, the growth of tourism helps to solve the unemployment problem in local regions as it provides more job opportunities for local residents in hotels or restaurants. Moreover, their houses can be converted into hostels to provide accommodations to visitors, which would generate income for the hosts. Hardly could they earn such a good income without the promotion of tourism. In the grand scheme of things, I believe that the benefits of international tourism, regarding the wealth of local economy and the decline in unemployment rates, do overshadow the disadvantages. From my point of view, countries all over the world should concentrate on promoting the country’s images to attract more tourists and make tourism a key industry.