International travel allows people to gain a deeper understanding of foreign countries and cultures.

International travel allows people to gain a deeper understanding of foreign countries and cultures. It is also argued that it contributes positively to an individual’s way of thinking. I agree with the argument that people who travel overseas are more likely to be tolerant and cooperative. To begin with, people of different nationalities have their own traditions, beliefs and behaviours. If an individual decides to go abroad for a short-time, they may encounter many challenges during their visit such as language, food and local culture. This experience helps to broaden their horizons and their mindset. Studies have shown that a person is more likely to improve his level of tolerance and understanding of cultures and people when they travel abroad. Therefore, international travel is often seen as an important life experience. Another point is that individuals who have visited international destinations tend to change their view about social problems in their own country. For example, it is noticeable that many countries face the problem of racism in certain ways. However, if people had some experience travelling abroad, they are more likely to accept and respect race, beliefs and cultures. Moreover, they try to imitate certain behaviours in order to feel more comfortable themselves when interacting with local people. By contrast, if a society is less tolerant and less understanding, the community as a whole will not overcome their social problems. In conclusion, having the opportunities to meet and interact with people of different cultures has an impact on the way people think about their own traditions. It helps to rethink and open the mind to embrace more of the values and traditions of their own country.