In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

Students are often advised to take a gap year for traveling or working before applying to university. Having a year for starting a job or going on a trip can be beneficial in many ways, including to get some experience and to make correct profession choice. On the other hand, taking time off can be hinder for those, who have precise career plans. After finishin hight school, youngsters mostly have vogue vision about their future, in particular career. They often choose profession without having clear undrstanding of actual meaning of certain field. They can not find out whether their choice was correct or not until graduating university and starting real practice in the respective field. At this point, it is quite late to start over. For example, economic is not taught at school and thus. schoolchildren do not have creal undestanding of it as a science. However, thousand of graduates choose it as a profession, regardless the lack of information. They can use a gap year to do sufficient research and learn more about desirable occupations. Furthermore, working before starting university is a good opportunity to get some valuable experience. No matter what type of job a person chooses, he can still gain some necessary skills that are vital in developing as a professional, including; teamworking and time management skills, sense of responsibility, ability to solve difficulties and ect. Meanwhile, there are some people, who know what they want to do for earlyon. Such people have perfectly arranged schedule and a gap year can be only waste of time for them. This is especially true for such professions, as medicine, that require a lot of learning. Overall, I think, having a sphere year after finish school is advantegous in most cases, though it can serve as an obstacle for those with precise plans.