International student exchange is quite popular around the world and it has led some teachers to believe that it has many benefits for teenage school students

International student exchange is quite popular around the world and it has led some teachers to believe that it has many benefits for teenage school students. In my opinion, those teachers are right, as the downsides of the exchanges are largely negligible compared to the advantages they bring. Firstly, the exchange students get a chance of visiting a country and learning their culture, as well as a new language. Since being multilingual is considered as one of the necessary skills in today's competitive world, the students get an opportunity to master a foreign language that they would not have otherwise. Secondly, most exchange students have to live apart from their parents and friends temporarily. This allows them to live without the care of others and become self-sufficient. Finally, while being an exchange student, one can earn new friends and extend one's network. On the other hand, there are several disadvantages of such exchanges that should be considered. One of them is some students getting culture shock in a negative meaning and not being able to avert it. In this case, the whole exchange period becomes a nightmare to them, and they can not enjoy the benefits of this opportunity. In addition, international exchanges can cost a significant amount of money some families can not afford. For instance, students coming from developing countries can face financial hardships when their exchange program is in developed countries. To conclude, even though international exchange programs have several drawbacks, they happen only in rare cases. Thus, I believe that the advantages of those exchanges are far more than the disadvantages.