international exchange visits education

Opinions differ as to whether international exchange visits will bring teenagers at school more merits than drawbacks or not. From my perspective, I agree with the former, and I will clarify this statement by bringing to the table both positive and negative aspects of this action. On the one hand, these events usually cost a lot of money, and they do not secure any benefits return. To illustrate, these young participants might not be attentive enough to learn anything from their trips, as they are very much alike to a holiday trip; thus it would be wasteful to spend that much money only for the students to consider them as a chance to rest rather than study. Furthermore, apart from the cost, the cultural difference should also be considered due to their ability to cause the students cultural shock, or put in other words, affecting their mental negatively and demotivating them to study. On the other hand, crossing beyond their country's border and opening their eyes before the world gives them the ability to study unprecedented things and motivate them to discover the world and appreciate its beauty. To clarify, as mentioned above, the cultural difference could have negative impacts on their mind. However, it is also a potential trigger of their desire to learn about different cultures, or their desire to study about regions, etc. Thus, this could change the participating students in a positive way. Also, this may open the door for students to find out if there are any differences in the way the host country study, or different focuses or subjects, likewise, where this could help them opt for the best one out of all the methods, they have learnt and might make them become more successful. In conclusion, I think the advantages which international exchange visits bring should outweigh the disadvantages, not only due to the fact that these advantages are more impactful, the disadvantages are very likely to be preventable.