art essential subject at school

Some people think that art is unnecessary and a waste of time at school, while others assume the opposite. This essay biases the former statement and will bring to the table the merits, as well as drawbacks art has on students. On the one hand, art might be dull to students, and the time and effort spent on art classes might return with no benefits. This might be caused by how teachers express their feelings and beauty inappropriately or too typically, making it hard to sense all the means it implies. Furthermore, art is not for everyone, so rather than making it a compulsory subject as many schools do, it might make students feel they are forced to do which brings them no benefits, or at least, they are obscure. Lastly, many art courses are taught in a traditional way, which might not be suitable for the era of technology like today. These teaching methods are not compatible with how students normally study with laptops and smartphones nowadays. These reasons contribute to the declining interest in art and thus making it seems useless for many people. On the other hand, art contains a priceless value in terms of offering humans a healthy and rich mental life, especially for students who are still in the process of shaping their characteristics. To clarify, by feeling sympathetic towards those poor good characters normally featured in books or stories, they might foster their empathy or love for humans, and put in other ways, it fosters the bond between people in the society. Moreover, by understanding and appreciating these masterpieces, students might be more enthusiastic and strive more for their goals, just like the authors who made them. Also, learning about ancient art helps students to know more about the identity and developments of the human through each stage in the past. In conclusion, I think although art might seem tedious, which makes it not helpful for some people, otherwise than that, all the benefits it brings are undoubtedly helpful.