Intelligence is the most important quality that a leader needs to have

When I asked for qualities to define a leader, intelligence is often put at the top of the list. What people forget are the softer, more personal qualities that in fact make a true leader. This essay shall discuss other qualities that are as important as intelligence, for becoming a leader. Notwithstanding all of the emphasis on IQ I think recognizing the importance of emotional intelligence on the way to become leader is very essential. It has been observed many times that an intelligent leader may fail to address the emotional issues of his team, may fail to motivate them using the right amount of sensitive and authority. Intelligence can lead you to the path of excellence, but might not prepare you for any emotional or mental hurdles that need other cognitive skills. Another factor important to become a leader is character quotient. Character quotient represents the strength of your character. While your brain may be valuable to someone else your beliefs only hold value to you. A person with a high character quotient would be unlikely to compromise their beliefs based on temptations such as money or promotion. This integrity makes them a great asset to any organisation, there by making them extremely effective leaders that people can look up to. Therefore, I disagree that intelligence is only component necessary to become an effective leader. The element to leadership include a blend of strong mind, ability, to influence people on an emotional level and strong positive character.