Improving the quality of sleep

Humans are facing a crisis, a sleep deprivation crisis. Sleep is one of the most important things in our life. If one does not sleep well, he or she certainly does not live well. Being so busy with our lives, we often forget about the importance of sleep. Not having a good quality sleep can lead to a lot of problems in an individual’s life. A person who is deprived of sleep is more prone to illness and suffering from mental disorders like anxiety and depression. Therefore, a good quality of daily sleep holds a great amount of value in an individual’s life. People should take all the necessary steps they can, in order to increase their overall duration and quality of sleep. One must always go to bed early. Going to bed early significantly improves the quality and the duration of sleep; the phrase ‘early to bed, early to rise, makes a man, healthy, wealthy and wise’ holds so much wisdom. Apart from that an individual should lead an active lifestyle. Studies show that exercising consistently, leads to more happy feelings and release of hormones such as dopamine and oxytocin, with in return reduce the levels of stress and anxiety in our body. One must also not undermine the importance of a healthy diet. A Diet that is rich in nutrients, leads to a better quality of sleep, with less likely chances of a person waking up in the middle of the night. We must also not forget about the importance of having a suitable sleeping environment. An Ideal sleeping environment must be away from all kinds of noises and distractions. It should be dark and must give the sleeping person a sense of calm and serenity. An individual should also not use any of the digital devices when going to bed. The blue light emitted from our digital devices are infamous for keeping us up at night. We as humans have somewhat become addicted to our digital devices and the digital dopamine, and this addiction is costing us our sleep. Another thing that might keep people up at night is stress and anxiety. Daily meditation and weekly massages have shown to drop the levels of stress and anxiety among various individuals and helped them sleep better. If the stress levels are alarming and unmanageable, one must see a doctor as soon as possible. Winning the battle against sleeplessness and improving the overall duration and quality of sleep takes time. A person needs to be consistent and committed, until these daily acts become habits. One must acknowledge the importance of sleep and make changes in their life, one step at a time. Having embarked on this journey one must stay motivated and should motivate others, because all change is always hard at first, messy in the middle but glorious at the end.