Some People Believe A Country Can Benefit A Lot From University Education

When it comes to the issue about how to judge the influence of higher education, some people argue that tertiary education does bring benefits to the society, but others believe that it is detrimental and even increases the unemployment rate. In my opinion, higher education will bring a lot of benefits to a country if universities provide job-oriented learning. On the one hand, higher education can produce more students with skills and knowledge contributing to the development of countries. It is widely acknowledged that universities can provide students with more specialized knowledge in different domains according to their own career interests. Those students, after graduating from universities, may be recruited by excellent enterprises due to their qualified educational backgrounds. Therefore, they can better utilize their talent and potential to make more innovations and technological progress, which really benefit countries a lot. On the other hand, it cannot be ignored that many graduates are trapped in a situation where they cannot secure employment when they finish their academic programs. Sometimes, when students are too engaged in studying at university, they neglect some practical skills. For example, some students who perform so well academically may not be proficient in business communication. Consequently, they cannot impress potential employers when hunting for a job. Thus, it is also understandable that some employers reject so-called elites from universities since they do not know some basic skills required at the workplace such as effective communication skills. In addition, many fresh graduates have minimum knowledge about the field so they often require time to learn about the industry. In my opinion, universities should provide more practical opportunities for students. For instance, during the academic program, schools should offer students the chances of visiting enterprises and positions of internship, which allow students to better polish their resumes. As a result, they will adapt to the workplace and secure a job. Consequently, they will not become a burden for the country. In conclusion, the society should encourage more students to go to universities for higher education so that they can contribute to countries with their knowledge acquired from universities; meanwhile, in order to reduce the unemployment rate, universities should take the initiative to prepare students with applicable field practice in the industry.