Intelligence is one of the most contested topics in psychology. People disagree on the best way to measure human cognition. Additionally, it is a controversial subject as some people perceive mental correlation to be similar.

Intelligence is one of the most contested topics in psychology. People disagree on the best way to measure human cognition. Additionally, it is a controversial subject as some people perceive mental correlation to be similar. However, differences in IQ test scores reveal that some people are better at reasoning and solving problems than others. Scientists have discovered that intelligence depends on nature and nurture. As such, more studies are needed to find out the extent that each of these factors play. Nature or genetics influence intelligence to a large extent. Research indicates that there is no single gene that controls IQ; genetic interaction can determine the level of human cognition (Cherry, 2020). Another study also indicates that siblings raised in the same household have more similar IQ’s than adopted children brought up in the same home (Cherry, 2020). Nurture or environmental factors also play a role in determining intelligence. For example, dietary components can affect the level of intelligence. Iodine deficiency in children leads to lower IQ as evidenced in developing nations and addressing this issue helped boost the cognitive skills of the kids (Geddes, 2018). However, both nature and nurture interact to determine intelligence.