Information technology enables many people to do their work outside their workplace (e. g. at home, when travelling, etc. ). Do the benefits of this mobility outweigh the disadvantages?

With an advent of the information technology it is not mandatory for many to employ at work place. This essay will argue that despite the predictable drawbacks which is caused by remote jobs, there are significant benefits associated with financial background and high productivity which could far outweigh the drawbacks. The main disadvantage is that office environment might be highly affected by those who work remotely. In other words, the kind relationship among employees tend to be easily distracted if some frequently do not come to office. As a result, companies put them on a risk people who believe that a work place plays an important role for their life reluctant to keep their work in such non-communicative environment. A related criticism is that it leads to difficulty in monitoring remote workers. Unless employer has well-developed regulation of monitoring work and advanced checking system, they should not only track the worker’s productivity progress, but also it is difficult to know how reliable the work report is. In spite of these drawbacks, work space mobility could take numerous advantages. Putting it more detailed, it is likely to be time-efficient for individuals, they can spend commuting hour on project rather than congest at the road for a long hour during the rush hour. According to the recent survey from the Trade Union Center of UK, total average UK commute takes up approximately an hour per day (58. 4 minutes). Wherever they work, it is explicitly obvious that they can promote their productivity. The another huge benefit is cost-effectiveness. Along with the time we are able to save money on gas or public transportation expenses, wear and tear on a vehicle, eating out, professional work attire and dry cleaning. Clearly, there are some negative aspects to work flexibility. Having said that, it might be harmful for the office environment and difficult to monitor mobility workers, if employer is well equipped with auditing program, working from home and other places can be far more effective for individuals.