Information technology enables many people to do their work outside their workplace (e. g. at home, when travelling, etc. ). Do the benefits of this mobility outweigh the disadvantages?

It is quite sure that information technology is making it more possible to work remotely in certain kinds of jobs. This essay will discuss that working outside of the physical office could be much more fruitful while there are still potential some drawbacks. First of all, spending too much time on working without colleagues could make some people isolated from their communities. It means that the feeling about self-isolation from society may influence negatively on employee’s personality and mental status, since people need to interchange their ideas and thoughts face to face regularly. For example, in recent research conducted in Japan, increasing number of suicide cases among young workers who are doing remote job is possibly associated with their working style. While existing such harmful effect, working remotely could be much more beneficial for both employers and employees. Some businesses such as customer service, online marketing are taking advantages of using IT development, ensuring people working outside of the office. Putting this in detailed, business owners can save cost by providing relatively less wages to their employees, on the other hand, the commuting at home can spend more time in their personal life. Moreover, working at different environment may boost employee’s creativity. Leading IT companies such as Google and Facebook, for instance, provides employees with flexible working schedule which promotes them to manage their own schedule to work at the office or commute remotely. In other word, employees may suggest productive ideas, when they work in various places, not in a fixed office. In conclusion, although in some business, working outside of the office can be more advantageous rather than working at the office when it comes to economic efficiency and creative ideas, it is clear that social needs of employees should be considered at the same time.