Information freely shared on the Internet is a worry to many people. What are the problems can this cause? What are the solution?

Firstly, sharing information without resistance on the Internet can cause misinformation deliberately spread out to manipulate and exploit the population. If people fall into the trap of believing fake news and change their attitude, there might be long-lasting repercussions in society. For instance, during the covid-19 crisis, when there are uncertainties and fear among citizens around the globe, traumatic emotional effects are heightened by conflict theories in the news and online. Another problem comes down to the possibility of being vulnerable to cybercriminals. The more personal information shared on the Internet, the more that person is transparently exposed to the threat of privacy in. In the worst case, a scammer with full access to one’s bank account or credit card might take advantage to do illegal acts. Amid rising concerns over false information, mass communications should be tightly controlled by the government. Essentially, taking actions to address misleading knowledge involves moderate regulations of content and harsh laws administered by the authority. From above, all media outlets, which have proven track records of reliability and integrity, must provide authenticity and no more. The second solution would be organizing social literacy campaigns to educate the masses about protecting their social media accounts. To illustrate, tightening up security settings and regularly changing the security questions used to access can be informed and instructed to the users. Only by doing this, can we expect a drastic reduction of identify theft, stalking and harassment.