Many people nowadays prefer home-schooling. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages

There is no doubt that formal education can go a long way to help build a successful career, and its foundations are laid in school. However, numerous parents nowadays favour home-schooling and many are in fact, adopting this method for their children. Such methods can provide many benefits, and also bring certain disadvantages with it; both will be discussed in this essay and I will also present my own thoughts. Firstly, the major advantage of being taught at home is the intensive care a child receives. Tutors often deal with only one or two children and this allows them to clearly identify a child’s weaknesses, like the inability to properly comprehend texts. They can then use this knowledge to improvise their teaching methods, and such practices has already proved to be useful by studies in the field of cognitive research. Moreover, staying at home can allow parents to teach their children various life skills that are key for a better adulthood and not to mention that this can also allow parents and children to strengthen their relationships. A recent survey in Dhaka suggested that home-schooled individuals are most likely to listen to their parents and are less likely to engage in inappropriate course of actions. Sadly, like many other things in the world, the method of home-schooling can prove to be a double-edged sword with many contradictory aspects; while studying at home can allow students to learn theories about important life skills, they rarely get to apply the knowledge in the real word. Unlike their peers, home-schooled students lack the ability to communicate properly with other people which moreoften than not, makes them feel forlorn and dejected during their adulthood, with many ultimately resorting to therapy as mentioned by an article in the Daily Star newspaper. Growing up in an environment with lack of competition is also a major disadvantage in such a competitive world. All this can lead to an adulthood full of regret, which is far from success. I believe that the drawbacks of being taught at school substantially outweigh any of the benefits. People learn the most when they are young and while it may seem like a great idea for a child, it does have the power to affect one’s mental health profoundly when they grow up, and such outcomes should be avoided even at the cost of academic excellence.