Influence of human beings on the world's ecosystem is leading to the extinction of species and loss of bio-diversity. What are the primary causes of loss of bio-diversity? What solutions can you suggest?

More than half the population of the biosphere is dominated by homo sapiens and the numbers are clearly increasing but this is not true in case their fellow species that are the part of the ecological system, as these species are on the verge of extinction which will have an adverse impact on bio-diversity. Probably the main reason is deforestation which directly leads to habitat loss, leaving animals without any secured sources to build their nest. Forests provide to all the primary needs of animals, food, shelter and protection. Not only do animals lose a place to live but also deforestation severely affects the ecological system which results in a lack of rainfall and no drinking water for the wildlife. For instance, the count of the Bengal tiger in India is reduced significantly over the years, due to a decrease in the forest area there are not many herbivorous species around for these wild animals to hunt and eat, as a result, these animals started attacking cattle and humans living in the nearby areas. Furthermore, a regrettable act on the part of human is animal poaching. Killing wildlife, separating younglings from their mother or hunting them for the sake of fun can all make the existence of wildlife on bio-sphere much more difficult task. For example, there are many cases where wild elephants are hunted and killed for their tusks and rhinos for their horn in India. Some solutions for this persistent issue might be, developing Nature reserves and animal sanctuaries where these animals can live in peace without any human intervention in their lifestyle. The culture of zoos and circus must be reprimanded and banned. Any violence against animals must be punished severely. Strict rules must be made and implemented to eradicate hunting and poaching animals. Most importantly deforestation must be discouraged. Overall, it is humans that must take responsibility for their actions and ensure good behaviour towards animals and forest.