Individuals in the community are able to consume inexpensive goods in modern society.

Individuals in the community are able to consume inexpensive goods in modern society. In this essay, the strengths and weaknesses of this trend will be examined. It should be noted that prices make a significant contribution to the improvement of people’s living standard. Thanks to reasonable prices, people from all walks of life can enjoy sufficient living without paying much, Especially, those who come from limited income households are able to consume state-of-the-art household appliances with reasonable prices, such as cell phones, air-conditioners or smart TVs. This, in turn, may create one’s life satisfaction, which is considered as a component of human well-being. Additionally, the availability of low-cost goods brings more economic values for the host country. If consumers buy inexpensive items on a large scale, this will promote the purchasing power and the economic power because the government receives more taxes from suppliers, thus driving the nation towards prosperity. On the other hand, there are some disadvantages of this trend. Firstly, the consumption of low-prices goods poses threats to consumers’ health. In order to balance their capital and generate more profits, manufactures have a propensity to deploy unsafe substances and inferior ingredients. The low-cost items not only feature low quality and short-term durability but also give rise to the health risk of hazardous chemicals, such as allergies, cancers and infertility. Secondly, the provision of cheaper goods wreaks havoc on the vulnerable environment. When businesses fabricate a huge number of products to meet the market’s need, they must expand their factories and accelerate their production process, resulting in an abundance of untreated sewage into rivers and noxious emissions in the air and an ecosystem degradation and global warming in the years to come. In conclusion, people’s access to cheaper products has its own goods sides. However, the shortcomings are more remarkable that they should be taken into serious consideration. (308)