Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are crippled by gridlocked traffic. What are the possible solutions for these cities?

Traffic problems have been increasing rapidly on a daily basis due to the presence of large number of vehicles in the city. Over the last three decades, many residents in the urban areas possess their own vehicles which correspondingly increased the road blocks and congesstion to passengers, causing more time and energy. This essay will evaluate the possible reasons to reduce such instances. As every member likes to use their own cars, people must be made aware about the problems of using them everytime. To begin with, many residents often use their vehicles to travel short distances instead of using public transport. Likewise, citizens must be made aware of the extra time incurred while riding and parking a car while compared to using sub-urban railways or buses. Secondly, due to maximum number of vehicles in the roadways the air quality index of metropolitian cities has also declined. To reduce its consequences, car-sharing among the public must be implemented by engaging with various communities and associations that will help the commuters to who are using the particular route on a regular basis. Alternatively, there is a need to develop flyovers and motorways which will make sure that the vehicles that are heavy will be only authorised to use a particular path and four-wheelers and two wheelers should be allowed to use other routes. Finally, the youth must also be encouraged to use bicycles which is better to improve their stamina and health. In Conclusion, the problems pertaining to traffic conggestion over the thirty years can be resolved if proper awareness campaign and a habbit of helping fellow population is instilled among the common man.