Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference.

I do not completely agree to this statement. Yes, definitely the government and the large companies play an important role and huge role in enhancing our environment but to a certain extent if individuals start taking interest in this it will make a vast difference. Government make plans or schemes to improve our environment but how much of that plan is implemented is again a question. Same is with large companies. On the other hand, if individual take the responsibility of improving just their surroundings like their commercial spaces, societies or residential campuses it will really make difference. I have seen so many such complexes where individuals have come together and made their surrounding so beautiful and green. Also usage of solar panels and water harvesting unit have also been assembled in some of the residential apartments in Bangalore. Recently I have read in a newspaper that a retired bank employee actually grew 500 different types or variety of plants on his terrace. Now he has got rid of the heat of summers. Also this mini forest on his terrace is a house to different types of birds and squirrels. It really inspires us. Many such examples are there where individuals took few steps to improve environment and they were joined by so many people and now they are doing big projects and also getting sponsors and supporters from across the state and country. So I truly believe that an individual's effort does make a lot of difference.