The movement of people from villages to cities for work can cause serious problems in both places. What are the serious problems associated with this? What measures can be taken to solve these problems?

Over the recent years many countries worldwide has seen an increase in the number of people moving from rural areas to urban areas for the sake of a job. This trend can lead to social and economic problems. This movement can be reduced to a large extent by improving the standards of rural areas. Firstly, migration of people from agricultural areas to urban areas can lead to over population in cities. Over population in urban areas can cause lack of adequate housing and this could result in destruction of forests and building up of multistory buildings. Moreover, moving to cities can lead to lack of basic facilitates and environmental pollution. An increase in city population would result in increased number of vehicles and this causes air pollution. For example, it is evident from the recent that the air pollution is increasing at an alarming rate i cities. Additionally, movement of people from agricultural areas of cities can cause unemployment. These are some effects of urbanization. Secondly, movement of people from agricultural areas would result in depletion of farming. As people move from rural areas to urban areas for jobs, there won't be anybody to go farming. This will result in decreased food production. For instance, as a result of urbanization nowadays Kerala is depending on other states for rice and vegetables, which were produced abundantly in the past. This is an economic burden. These are some effects of urbanization on rural areas. However, migration of people from rural areas to urban areas can be reduced to large extent by providing more opportunities in the villages and also providing basic facilities like transportation, water, electricity etc. Government plays a major role in controlling urbanization. Free education and health care services to people in rural areas are helpful in controlling urbanization. In conclusion, these days' urbanization is increasing in a fast rate. This can be controlled to a large extent by improving the standards of villages. Government has a great role in controlling the migration of people from agricultural areas to urban areas.