Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment, only governments and large companies can make a difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people believed that a single action by a person has no contribution to make a better environment because they think that it is a mere government and corporations responsibility. Although it is quite dilemmatic, in my opinion, I strongly disagree with this point of view as an individual is able to give a substantial contribution to save nature. To begin with, individual action can add-up if many people do the same activities to save the environment. This is because together actions will be beneficial in creating a positive ambiance for campaigning and doing a green-living. For instance, a survey from Minnesota university in 2011 claimed that a human was more motivated in doing the exact activities as long as the other people with at least 2 nearest people surrounding this person were doing it. Although it is clear that motivation is not the single environmental determinant, together actions can not be disregarded. Secondly, individual willingness is more powerful rather than government policy. Unless the government policy is not followed up by a strict punishment, people will always break the rule. For example, when the government enacted a regulation to forbid throwing waste for companies, the facts from media revealed the contrast as 40% of companies did not follow it. It might be true that the government policy sometimes effective in ruling citizens, meanwhile, internal factors from individuals should boost first through education. All in all, an individual can change the world through the environment as long as a person works together in a community and increase internal motivation. Whilst, the government should support it with the right policy for maintaining sustainability and the factories should also obey the rule.