A government’s role is only to provide defence capability and urban infrastructure (roads, water supplies, etc.). All other services (education, health, social security) should be provided by private groups or individuals in the community. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In recent years, government’s responsibility is quite debatable by human right activist, and lots of other people. While some people say that government is to provide basic necessities of life like water supplies, construction of roads, etc) and military services to people, and to country. It has been argued that government should not be responsible for the other important aspects such as education, medical health and social security but these services to be provided by private groups or other sectors in the community. I believe that all other aspects of life should be operated by government rather than private sectors. Firstly, funding given to a particular government is kind of substantially high cushion that they can spent those allocated funds for betterment of country, and for other necessities as well that include water supplies, road construction, education and medical health as well. As an illustration, state collect taxes, and insure people that the money they collect would be spent on infrastructure, education and health care. if the government doesn’t oblige on their word, and money is not spent on them instead they have to look up to private sectors for their needs what’s a point of paying taxes? I believe that it is people’s right to be provided with education, and medical health coverage since they are the one paying for the funds. Also this would result reduction of popularity and tax payers. Secondly, depending on private sectors, and personnel for major needs as in education, and health care can create a monopoly and result in deprivation of facilities for underprivileged sector. For example, a private sector builds a hospital for commercial purposes, and a poor person would not be able to afford it. In my opinion, it’s pretty much clear if the major services are left for the look out of private sectors, equality would not be served, and as a result underprivileged people would suffer. To sum up, resources present with the government should be kept in mind by state authorities for developing, and upgrading the country. I think that private sectors should not be solely responsible for major sectors like education, and health care. In order to preserve human rights, and equality government should take responsibility.