Genetic engineering is a dangerous trend. It should be limited. To what extent do you agree?

In today’s modern era of technology, to serve the requirements of civilization scientists regard genetic engineering as a crucial scientific work. Whereas some believe that there is no doubt about its significance, and benefits but some renowned scientists believe use of genes could be quite harmful, and should be restricted up to some extent. I strongly second this view as too much of anything is not good for health so is with genetic engineering. Although the positive outcomes of genetic engineering are enormous, like fighting with diseases for instance, diabetes, cystic fibrosis, and several other diseases. There are many questions raised that needs to be answered. Firstly, one can’t predict outcomes of genetic engineering would make on environment. The release of newly engineered genetic organism could create problems in the region of ecology, creating an imbalance just the exotic species would do. An accident in engineering the genetic of virus or bacteria for example, which could result in stronger, and dangerous type. It could cause serious epidemic or pandemic if released. In addition, it could be fatal for human beings resulting in severe illness or death. Furthermore, genetic engineering could create unknown side effects. Certain amount of changes in plant or animal would create unpredicted allergic reactions in some people, which in its original form never did. Also, other changes could result in toxicity to human or the other organism. It seems irrefutable to deny the dangerous outcomes related to genetic engineering. Several issues from certain scientists has also been raised as regards in acceptance of this technology. These concerns range from ethical issues to lack knowledge. For instance, once an altered gene is placed in an organism it cannot be reversed. To sum up, genetic engineering has enormous benefits but so are the risks and unknown effects. I believe that genetic engineering is revolutionary but the outcomes could be harmful so use of it should be limited.