ensuring that children have regular physical exercise should be the responsibility of parents and therefore schools should not waste valuable school time having sports lessons as part of the curriculum. To what extent do you agree?

How can we assure that students actively participate in physical exercises? Some people hold a view that sport lessons in schools should be eliminated while parents can be responsible for arranging related activities. I completely disagree with this opinion for the following reasons. Firstly, attending physical curriculum provides an opportunity for teachers to unveil children’s talents in sports. Many students who perform poorly on traditional core subjects might have enormous potential in achieving athletic success. For instance, as a remarkable basketball player, Michael Jordan was discovered by his school coach and consequently obtained tremendous achievements in sports industry. Nevertheless, if Michael Jordan did not attend sports classes and was not encouraged by his PE teacher, he would have struggled on passing traditional subjects for graduation and would not be accepted by well-known university for his natural endowment in sports. Besides, taking sports lessons allows children to relax from tense academic studies. As many students are compulsively required to attain acceptable on core subjects to graduate and to be enrolled in famous universities, children usually spend tremendous time studying traditional courses and feel stressed. Whereas if sports lessons are properly arranged for children, they will have time to play with their peers and will ease down from onerous academic study. Moreover, since parents already lay much focus on heavy workloads, there is less time to ensure children’s zealous participation in physical exercises. In conclusion, as students’ athletic potential can be explored by teachers from sports schools and children are provided arranged time to decompress from heavy academic studies. Therefore, cutting down sports courses should be reconsidered.