Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment. Only governments and large organizations can.

It is thought that only governments and large companies can make positive impacts in improving the environment while individuals are powerless to do likewise. Admittedly, large companies and governments can affect short-term improvements on the environment. However, I do not agree with the assertion that individuals are unable to do anything in this regard as well. I believe individuals can make improvements to the environment, no matter how little the contribution or how long it takes to accomplish. First, individuals can take responsibility for their immediate communities by adhering to simple rules such as refraining from indiscriminate bush burning, proper disposal of waste, cleaning out surrounding gutters, and participating in frequent tree-planting activities. For instance, it has been reported of a man in either the far east or India who began planting one tree annually in his hometown and has continued to do so for almost 30 years. Thus creating an impressive forest of trees in his community. That's an example of an individual improving and impacting his environment positively. Imagine if ten of his neighbours do likewise. Second, individuals can resort to using energy-saving devices in their workplaces and homes. Devices such as lightbulbs and electrical appliances. In addition, people can become more considerate in their daily use of water and make efforts towards more conservation and less wastage of it. Finally, individuals can contribute to reducing gas emission into the atmosphere by resorting more to the use of public transportation, engaging in bicycle riding and driving electric cars. To conclude, the impact of individuals in improving the environment cannot be totally dismissed, as engaging in consistent, conversation methods can result in positive, long-term outcomes for the environment.