Some people think that video games are really bad and should be completely banned. Other people, however, think that video games are all good and people should be encouraged to play them, especially children and teenagers.

It seems to many people that playing games always causes negative consequences to the users and we should prohibit this entertainment to prevent disadvantages. However, others would say this makes their life much better. While the former view can be justified for some reasons, I am more inclined toward the latter. Honestly, I can understand why people still have bad assumptions on video games as much as so much that they find this should be banned. First of all, like other entertaining activities, participants need to spend certain hours on gaming. So this leads to the opinion that joining in games can waste one’s time which they can use for other meaningful work. Then, if gamers continue playing too much, they will easily be addicted to this hobby without their awareness. Every issue will be more pressing when people become obsessives. However, I personally believe that those thoughts still have their vulnerabilities. In fact, gaming brings a host of advantages, which not only for players but also for society. Therefore, other people lean toward the second view which agrees with encouragement to play games. And to my knowledge, we all need happiness and relaxation to balance our tricky life, don’t we? Because we are living, not existing, I think finding ways to success should accompany finding our true pleasures. Frankly speaking, as an entertainment, playing games still has a specific impact on the mental health of gamers, who are usually big on video games. This is obviously because they are doing what they love. Additionally, I extremely believe that having our own joys in human life is a must. Moreover, it does not have to be the same because of the diversity which is also a factor that creates different stories, different colors in society. To me, entertainment is not wrong, especially gaming is not wrong, it depends on the way people use it. Everyone should be respected, everyone’s hobbies also need the same respect. Because playing video games is not a crime, I believe that prohibiting it is not a smart solution at all. In conclusion, while gaming is not without certain drawbacks, I would say that it is not that bad and people should be encouraged to play them if they want to. However, it is also crucial that gamers should know ways to control their life and games.