Individuals can do nothing to change society. New developments can be only brought about by governments and large institutions.

Opinions differ on whether individuals have the same power to influence societies when compared to governments and large institutions. in my opinion, the influences from the latter are by far more significant than that from the individuals owing to financial consideration and their authorities. In order to initiate changes in a society, money plays a pivotal role in supporting the progress as well as motivating the participants. With the strong financial foundations, governments and large institutions can invest in various aspects, such as building infrastructures, supporting scientific researches and paying the manpower. These financial inputs help tremendously in initiating and sustaining a change or a development. Monetary contributions are also helpful in bringing positive messages in a society. For example, students are more keen in their academic to strive for scholarships given by government and large institutions. This creates a positive learning atmosphere among pupils. The authorities and social influences from governments and large corporations also bring changes to larger scales. By improving regulations and laws, governments can affect the public behaviors on a national level through civil obligation. Large corporations can influence the societies too by being a leading role in their industries. For instance, fair trading policies and 5-day working basis are the successful examples of raising public awareness on certain social issues. Such dramatic changes and attention can never be leaded by individuals which are more scattered. In conclusion, it is undoubtedly that individuals participation so are crucial to social changes. However, governments and large institutions have greater potential in provoking changes more significantly and effectively with the help of their financial supports and authorities.