independent films released

The independent films that were released in the year 2012 in the UK and republic of Ireland can be classified into 10 different genres. These genres vary from comedy movies to documentaries and thrillers. Documentary and drama hold the record for most releases in 2012 with having 35 films released. The second place belongs to the comedic genre with releasing 26 films. Although there is not a significant difference between the number of releases in these three categories, the amount of income made from ticket sales is quiet considerable. The comedy genre alone is responsible for almost half of this year’s ticket income, while the drama and documentary together combined barely made any sales. horror movies were somewhat popular in 2012 and with only 9. 5 percent of all releases they made 20 percent of the year’s sales. The least popular genre was romance with releasing 5 films and grossing almost zero percent, and even biopic with having only one representer surpassed the romance by a 9 percent difference. Crime movies with releasing 7 out of the 148 movies made up 4. 7 percent of all releases and 4. 7 of the total income from ticket sales. Overall in 2012 out of 148 films made, comedy and romance were respectively the most and least popular genres among independent films. Other genres such as thriller and action stand somewhere in the middle.