Prison is usually conceived as an ideal environment for the proliferation of crimes, which negates its prime purpose. Meanwhile, the minority believes that such place fails to exert an intimidating atmosphere in order to deter people from committing crimes.

Prison is usually conceived as an ideal environment for the proliferation of crimes, which negates its prime purpose. Meanwhile, the minority believes that such a place fails to exert an intimidating atmosphere to deter people from committing crimes. From my perspective, while jail fulfills its job of teaching lawbreakers a lesson, it is still far from eliminating social vices. Contrary to popular belief, prison actually increases the crime rate rather than decreases it. As criminals are sent to jail, instead of living in separate cells according to everyone’s description of prison life, they stay with at least one more person. As a result, prisoners can cooperate with others with similar backgrounds, leading to gangs' formation, setting up a violent environment. For instance, when a serial killer is paired with another murderer, they are likely to retain their aggressive behaviors and start recruiting other inmates to cause chaos. Some might argue that prison guards can control the situation, but since they mostly do their jobs only for money, rarely do they care about the surrounding scenario. However, it is invalid to claim that prison life is not punishing enough because the place is converse to regular life. Prisoners are deprived of commodities commonly found in society like comfortable sleeping areas and delicious food once they start their sentence. Additionally, upon entering jail, inmates instantly lose their freedom and have to obey the place’s rules that are guaranteed to make prisoners suffer. One notable example is that inmates are required to follow a hectic schedule, including a curfew, strict meal times, and only a small proportion of time to have leisure and interact with the outside world. One might say that these are not sufficient, but the freedom deprivation alone is the largest punishment desired by no one. To summarize, despite its frightening life, prison remains one of the most dangerous places in the world because of its never-ending violence caused by relentless inmates. Although the government makes an effort to fend off such behaviors, I’m afraid that this is not enough.