Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems What other measures do you think might be effective?

Nowadays people think that the ultimate method of solving the problem of traffic jam and pollution is to raise the cost of petrol. From my point of view, I totally disagree with this opinion as I believe that there are other measures which might be much more effective than increasing petrol price. There are reasons why I do not approve of the given opinion. First and foremost, pushing up the price of petrol will make no changes to people’s habit of commuting to work by private cars. Given the inconvenience of the public transport system, no matter how expensive petrol is, people still have to rely on cars without having any possible alternations. What is more, increasing petrol price will lead to high cost of transportation, which may affect local economy as the price of goods rises. Therefore, it is counterproductive to raise fuel prices in order to tackle the problems of traffic congestion and pollution. Measures could be taken to solve the problem of traffic jam include limiting the number of private cars in the city centre and encourage more people to use public transports such as buses or the metro. In order to make public transport passenger-friendly, the network should be expanded and the frequency should also be increased. Moreover, local authorities have to subsidize buses and trains in order to attract more people. In terms of solving pollution problem, nowadays thanks to the development of the energy industry, there are various types of renewable power sources in which cars can use such as solar power, wind energy or electricity – all of them are environmentally friendly. As long as they are put into practice, certainly no worries have to be made on the disposal of exhaust fumes from cars. In conclusion, I believe that increasing petrol price is not efficient since people still have to rely on their cars, given the inconvenience of the public transport. Instead, only by providing people with the amenities in public transportation facilities and applying renewable sources of energy to cars could traffic congestion and pollution be solved.