Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. What other measures do you think might be effective?

Some people believe by setting higher price for fuel gases is the most effective method to overcome the growth of traffic pollution issues. I agree this method would work in several developing countries. However, i think there are more efficient techniques to tackle this problem. On one hand, it is clear that by raising the price of petrol gases would decrease the demand of owning private vehicle. Most people will choose public transportation over individual transportation. This method would work in some developing countries, in contrast, I am not sure this way would be efficacious in developed countries. On account of people in developed countries has high quality of life, that is to say, those people will keep increasing their income to fulfil their needs, including petrol gases which is a basic needs for them. Therefore, I believe there are more effective way to solve this issue. On the other hand, there are number of techniques to reduce traffic congestion and pollutant gases. For instance, the goverment could make public transportation more comfortable and safety to use which is an important aspect for public's transporter. similarly, setting the prices for buses, train, subway, and other kind of public transportation more affordable and reasonable for people to afford. Consequently, if the prices are in a great deal, I am convinced people will use public transportation than driving their own Moreover the goverment and community should encourage people to use bicycle to decrease the air pollution that caused by gas based vehicle. Furthermore, there are new development and innovation in electric cars which has a huge advantages, which doesn't gives toxic gases to our environment, in tackling pollution issue. In conclusion, eventhough the goverment set a high prices on petrol, some developed countries might not be effected to decrease the raise of traffic and pollution issues. Alternatively, there are method that may be efficient, for instance, renovating public transportation for comfort and safe use, setting low prices for public transportation tickets, as well as, encouraging people to use bicycle and electric cars, I'm sure if the goverment apply this method to daily life, traffic and pollution problem will not be an issue in the coming years.