In some countries young people are encouraged to travel or work a year between finsing theirhigh school and university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decided to do this

I various nations of the world, plethora people advocate taking a year gap inorder to travel or work before their university studies. While this offers few advantages there are some disadvantages which are worth considering. To begin with, there are two main benefits to students travelling or working before their university studies. Firstly, through travelling they will be able to expand their knowledge. When students go overseas they will be expose with variant customs and cultures. As a result, they will get deeper understanding of the world. In addition, students who work will learn to appreciate the value of money. Due to the fact that they will realise the hardwork behind in earning money. Consequently they would think more before purchasing anything they desire and may become less impulsive in their spending money. On the otherhand, there are many drawbacks too. Firstly, travelling cause people to become homesick. Some studentshave not been apart from their families or friends before, so when they travel they will miss them. In extreme circumstances some students will experience severe depression. Secondly, students who work may not go back to their studies. The reason for this is that they may enjoy earning money and independent life. Therefore, their whole future could be negatively affected. In these days it is very important for everyone to take degree inorder to competitive in the job market. To conclude, if students take a gap between their university studies, they could gain their knowledge and they will learn to become more independent in relation to earning money. However they may become depressed and not interested to continue their studies. Therefore, this is essential to weigh the benefits against the drawback carefully before taking decision about their future.