Some schools have restricted the use of mobile phones. Is this a positive development or a negative one?

Nowadays, we are facing various means of distraction in our daily life, and a major source of distraction is the mobile phone. Knowing that mobile phones have facilitated our lives to a huge extent and gave us the luxury to have the whole world between our hands; however, it has been affecting adversely the educational process of the young generation and that has caused some schools to ban the use of the mobile phone on their campus. Being a child in the 21st century means that you’re introduced to various aspects of technology. Consequently, this has caused many children to come to school accompanied by their mobile phones in their pockets. As a result, the schools have noticed that the mobile phone is affecting the students’ productivity as much as the instructor’s effectiveness. Therefore, the ban of these devices was a great advantage for both students and instructors. Firstly, students have been receiving notifications while the lesson is being taught, and that was causing the student’s thinking to be shattered. It also affected the student’s focus on the lesson being taught. In addition to that, it was causing noise and interruption to the teacher and other colleagues. Secondly, it has caused many students to be introverted and refuse to socialize with their colleagues during lunch breaks and recess time. Not allowing students to have their mobile phones with them at school, the administration has enhanced the process of socializing and mingling. That helped students to build better relationships and enforced to have better ties with each other. Ultimately, the student needs to keep up with the technological evolution, but it is also vital not to lose face-to-face human interaction and expression of feelings live rather than having video calls and virtual reality.