Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems.

Many major cities are now facing traffic and pollution problems. Many people say that the most effective way to eradicate this problem is by increasing the petrol price. This essay will argue why I partially agree with the statement, as there are other ways to deal with these issues. Firstly, it is undeniable that increasing fuel prices will aid in dealing with road congestion and global warming. Instead of people who travel to work alone in a four-wheeler, might switch to a two-wheeler or even public transport, as these options are cost-effective. For example, I used to travel to college with my scooter. But due to the increase in petrol prices, I switched to traveling via bus. This approach helps in solving traffic and pollution issues as there are fewer personal vehicles on the road. It will also reduce overexploitation of non-renewable resources. However, an increase in petrol prices does not affect some class of people. A slight increase in the price may not affect the rich. They will continue to purchase branded cars that use a lot of fuel. On the contrary, this will affect the middle class as they are the ones who use public transport on a large scale. An increase in petrol price will reflect in the ticket fare. Because of this, growth in fuel prices may not solve the problem. In conclusion, I believe that in order to solve the traffic jam and pollution problem, the government should implement rules and regulations on the use of personal vehicles and not by increasing the fuel prices. It will sooner or later come into force and save us from global warming.