Smacking is the best way to discipline children.

Nowadays, parents find it difficult to control their children. Some people believe that Physical punishment is the most effective way to teach them discipline. This essay will argue why punishing children physically is completely unacceptable. Parents think that children often misbehave if they do not have a fear of punishment. They believe that smacking their children and raising them with this fear will keep them away from bad influences and teach them discipline. They feel protective of their and this makes them resort to such actions. For example, a recent study has shown that around 45% of the parents in India punish their children physically to imbibe manners in them and to stop them from using inappropriate words. It suggests that why some people choose to inflict physical pain on children as the best way to control their behavior. However, this approach may have some negative consequences. After some extent, children might become resistant to physical punishment that no amount of pain will affect them. Instead of learning manners and discipline, it might affect them psychologically and they might become more aggressive. For instance, there is a recorded case of a grown-up adult trying to harm his parents as revenge for what he had to face in his childhood. In this way, physical punishment might affect children throughout their lifetime. In conclusion, this essay discussed why it is not acceptable to smack children to inculcate discipline in them. In my opinion, I totally disagree that imposing physical punishment is the most appropriate method to teach children discipline.