Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. What other measures do you think might be effective?

The growing problem of green gas emission, has elaborated many problems to the surface. Some suggest that, if the cost of gas is sky high, people will be less dependent on their cars, and that in turn will decrease the usage of personal cars which in turn help to reduce environmental pollution. I do agree with this, for many reasons that I will discuss below. Firstly, if the local authority provides the city with good and comfortable public transportation, many will shift to it instead of driving their own cars for their workplace, which in turn will be less costly for many individuals around the globe. For example, in Amman the capital of Jordan, the traffic jam is a critical problem that is growing every day, besides, the oil price is relatively higher than the adjacent countries. Most of the local residents are waiting the ongoing project of Amman fast bus, which will be a good substitute for many and less expensive for others and will help to reduce the carbon dioxide emission. Secondly, if you are an average paid worker and the monthly expenses of your car fuel is high, this will push you to buy an electrical car. Such kind of cars are very efficient in local city streets in which you cannot accelerate or drive fast. This might be helpful to reduce the congestion inside the city. Most of these cars have a reasonable price with many technological advances that make them more appealing to customers. Lastly but not the least, Nowadays, many car manufacturers is shifting towards making electric and hybrid vehicles and avoid those with large engine that consumes large amount of fuel, since high oil prices make the selling rate of such cars is low. To summarise, if the local authorities raised the petroleum cost, this will have many positive effects of downsizing the use of personal cars and indirectly will impact positively on the environment by reducing gas emissions.