Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. What other measures do you think might be effective?

Owing to the problems of high level of traffic and the increase of pollution, it is considered that increase in the price of petrol is the most effective way in solving these problems. I agree that increase in petrol price will help in fighting these problems. However there are other policies that can be implemented. Generally speaking, whenever a commodity is sold at a lower price, the demand tends to increase. However, the increase in price brings about a decrease in demand. This aptly summarizes the law of demand and supply. From this concept, increasing the price of petrol will not only lower its consumption by road users, particularly car owners and heavy duty vehicles leading to a reduction in traffic rate but also will hinder factories that buy and burn premium motor spirit as fuel. It would force a decrease in the number of automobiles bought whilst ensuring efficiency of the existing ones. But nations and regulation authorities can do more to curb carbon emission. They can do so by providing carbon emission quotas to industries and vehicle companies. Through a quota system, they can regulate the emission level per city and ensuring a green environment. This cap helps the authorities to generate revenue, improve the ambient air quality and lives of her citizenry. Nonetheless, measures like heavy taxing of factories, traffic regulations such as driving only on specific days of the week will also contribute to the eradication of the aforementioned problem. Auto companies can also invest heavily in research and development. This would help in the invention of carbon efficient engines and eventually help to ameliorate the emission of greenhouse gases. In conclusion, in as much as increasing the price of fuel will help in solving the growth of traffic and pollution in different cities, there will be an economic effect to this. Implementing other measures together with the price increase will do a great deal in mitigating the problems.